Meet Alina

Find out more about the Loxleys Team

Alina - Waitress

Alina

Waitress

  • Name, age, and role: Alina, 40, waitress
  • Place of Birth: Romania
  • Star Sign: Gemini
  • How long have you worked at Loxleys and what did you do before?: I've been at Loxleys for nearly a year now. I come from Busteni, a mountainous area where tourism is the main activity so I've always worked in hospitality and have dedicated more than 18 years to the industry. 
  • Why Loxleys: I discovered Loxleys after my partner chose it for my birthday dinner. It was the first time in the UK I had savoured everything on the plate and was made to feel really special in a restaurant. On that same night I said, 'I want to work here' and after a few months I applied for a job. Since then I have found that Loxleys doesn't just offer quality food, excellent wines and elegant decor but also has a passionate team. I discovered what I was looking for - professional, dedicated, creative and passionate people. 
  • What's your biggest career influence: In high school I also wanted to be a police officer or nurse because they involved helping people. Near the end of high school after a few experiences in hospital I discovered that I'm too sensitive to people's suffering and I wouldn't be able to cope if I couldn't do anything to make them smile. Then I found the hospitality industry which allows me to bring a smile to people's face and help them but in a different way - it's the perfect fit for me. 
  • What's your favourite part of the job?: My favourite part of the job is when I see people are relaxed, happy and satisfied with the time they have spent with us. My greatest satisfaction is seeing them smiling and returning confidently to Loxleys for a repeat experience. 
  • Hobbies: Travelling to new places, cooking and gardening.
  • Describe your perfect day: A perfect day for me starts with a good coffee, my loved ones near me and if I am lucky enough to have some sun and be near the sea that would be pretty much perfect.
  • In 5 Years I Want To Be: In five years I hope I will have conquered the language barrier completely. I hope mine and my son's wishes will come true and he'll study at university in the UK. 
  • Favourite Food: Seafood and chateaubriand, which are both really popular with our guests at Loxleys too.
  • Favourite Wine: Pinot Noir, Cramele Recas
  • Favourite Holiday Destination: At least once a year I like to go back to Romania then I like to go to places I haven't been and take a chance to recharge my batteries.